b'Postgraduate ResearchersPostdoctoral appointments provide early-career scientists with hands-on R&D experience and a path to independent distinction in scientific publications and at symposiums around the world. Postdoctoral researchers typically spend one to three years honing their research skills along with proposal writing, experiment planning and execution, and network building.INLs postdoctoral population hit an all-time high in 2019 with 68 appointments. The program is a launchpad for the next generation of independent researchers. INL has seen all its distinguished postdocs and 74% of other postdoctoral researchers convert to permanent hires as they complete their appointments.In December 2019, Dr. Wei Wu was recognized as the inaugural recipient of INLs newly established Outstanding Postdoc Award. Going forward, this will be an annual award recognizing a postdoc who demonstrates exemplary research contributions and leadership resulting in positive,Dr. Xiaxin Dingsignificant impact on the laboratorys programmatic efforts or status in the scientific community. Glenn T. SeaborgDistinguished Postdoctoral AssociateDistinguished Postdoctoral AssociatesDr. Dings research involves the The Russell L. Heath Distinguished Postdoctoral Associate Programstructural, transport, magnetic is named after an INL researcher best known for his contributions toand thermodynamic properties gamma ray spectroscopy, still used in all divisions at INL. Now in itsof strongly correlated materials. fourth year, the program made three appointments in 2019. Within the Energy Frontier Research Center for Thermal The Deslonde de Boisblanc Distinguished Postdoctoral AssociateEnergy Transport under Irradiation, Program, created in 2017, is named for the designer of the core of thehe mainly focuses on probing the Advanced Test Reactor and one of the most important figures from thequantum oscillation phenomenon early history of INL. In 2019, two appointees were converted to regularand mapping out the Fermi surface hires. of the delta phase of uranium in U-Zr compounds. Dr. Ding earned The Glenn T. Seaborg Distinguished Postdoctoral Associate Program,his doctorate in condensed created in 2018, is a competitively awarded position for outstandingmatter physics at Nanjing early career scientists in solid state chemistry, nuclear physics, solutionUniversity in 2015 and worked as chemistry, materials science, radiation chemistry and other relateda postdoctoral research associate fields applied to actinides. Seaborg is best known for his work isolatingat Los Alamos National Laboratory and identifying transuranic elements, which earned him the 1951 Nobelbefore joining INL in 2019.Prize in Chemistry. The program made one appointment in 2019.13 |University Partnerships'